The Most Beautiful Thing : Rosemary & Thyme

The Most Beautiful Thing : Rosemary & Thyme

Rosemary&Thymepic-9

Hello, wonderful readers! My name is Kriste and I pen a blog over at Rosemary & Thyme. I hope you all love and adore Katelyn as much as I do. I was so thrilled when she asked me to be apart of this series on beauty, and I absolutely can’t wait to share all my thoughts with you all!

So, to kick everything off, I’ve been challenged to describe the most beautiful thing I have ever seen. I’ve given this a lot, a lot of thought over the past month or so. Lots of thought and little answer. Well, let me qualify that, little definite answer. Here’s what I have figured out so far.

Beauty is a force that can’t be pinned down so easily. That is, it is instead a force to be reckoned with. More than a pretty face or sunlit sky, beauty is what we feel deep in our souls when an item, person, picture strikes our hearts in a way we feel we may recover from.

Most days, the beautiful moments are the small ones. When a baby wraps their tiny fingers around your own and your heart is suddenly aware that you want to be Mom. When you argue with your spouse who leaves for work but notice a smile from them as they pull away, assuring you that the love you promised is forever. When you step through the doors of what will be your first home and feel compelled to cry over crown molding and hardwood floors. These are the most beautiful moments. These are what we cling to when the world seems to be falling apart.

My most beautiful moment is made up of a thousand little pieces of my life. Because for me, beautiful isn’t just the pretty, the lovely. It’s also the heartbreaking and the terrifying. I will tell you why. Beautiful isn’t a static state. It is something that grows and shifts deep within us. During the hardest moments, the most tearful midnights, we are redefined. When we can finally break through and walk away from the people and behaviors that are killing us inside, that moment is pure beauty. Through all the tears and deep heartaches, we are renewed. In that small moment of saying “no more”, we are changed. We have shifted from ugly to beautiful.

So search you own heart and see what you think to be the most beautiful. Once you find a few examples, ask yourself a few questions. What did your heart tell you in that moment? Why did it choose that moment to speak to you? How is this going to change you from this moment forward? I think the answers to these questions will surprise you. And the reconciliation process will turn even the most ugly parts of your soul to the most beautiful.

Kriste Janczyk
Instagram | Pinterest | Facebook | Blog

You can say some shit too:

